Helping the Less Fortunate 

This Friday, I went to a charity event that my parents were involved in to try to raise money to help fund for the heart surgeries for a few kids in Vietnam. The charity event was a show where singers were hired to sing while I and a few other kids had to walk around and try to sell raffle tickets to the audience to help fund for the surgeries. Our goal was to raise $60,000 to help about 10 kids. As I walked around the audience trying to encourage them to buy tickets, I was very saddened by the fact that when I asked some people if they wanted to buy tickets to help the children in Vietnam, their reply was just a blunt “no”. I was surprised that they didn’t want to just sacrifice a few dollars to people who don’t even have a dollar and are in desperate need to live. But on the bright side, many people also said yes! I really hope that we were able to succeed in our goal. 

Leave a Reply

