Real or Fake News? 

In class on Friday, we listened to a radio recording of a study that was conducted on students from middle school all the way to college if they thought the picture was proof of the Fukushima nuclear explosion or not. Most of my class said that it was not enough proof to say that it was the effect of the explosion, but in the recording, the researcher said that more than 80% believed that the picture was real. It surprised me when I heard that large number, since my class was the exact opposite. I wonder how those students thought that this picture was proof of the explosion, since all it shows are mutated flowers and nothing else. This study was conducted in November of 2016 which is very recent, so I am curious as to why those students chose what they did, since I thought that today’s teenagers are able to tell what is right from wrong. 

Leave a Reply

